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WASHOE COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

APN:  234‐373‐05  Hearing #:  17‐0005E16 
Owner of Record:  SAYER TRUST  Hearing Date:  02/15/2017 
Property Address:  1165 MERIDIAN RANCH DR  Tax Year  2016/2017 

Property Type:  SINGLE FAMILY RESIDENCE  Building Size:  1,644 sq ft 
Year Built:  2006  Land Size:  6,192 sq ft 

2016/2017 NR Taxable Value  2016/2017 Proposed Taxable Value 
Land:  52,100  52,100 
Improvements:  176,983  176,983 
Exemption (minus):  0  (55,286) 
Total:  229,083  173,797 

Prepared By:  Lora Zimmer, Assessment Services Coordinator     Reviewed By:  Cori Burke, Chief Deputy Assessor 

The subject property is a Single Family Residence located at 1165 Meridian Ranch Road in Reno.  The petitioner, David L. 

Sayer, initially applied for and was granted a Disabled Veteran exemption allowed under Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 

361.091 in 2006.  In prior fiscal years, Mr. Sayer has used his exemption by splitting its value between his real property 

taxes and his government services tax at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).   For the 2016/2017 fiscal year, Mr. 

Sayer returned his exemption renewal in a timely manner, prior to the required deadline, indicating he wanted to use 

his exemption at the DMV only.  Mr. Sayer contacted our office in approximately September of 2016 stating that the 

designation made on his renewal was an error and that he intended to apply a portion of the exemption’s value toward 

his real property taxes as he had done in prior years. 

In accordance with NRS 361.091 and NRS 361.155 to apply the exemption to real property an affidavit of renewal must 

be signed and returned to the Assessor by June 15 of each year.  Since the renewal affidavit did not indicate to apply any 

portion of the exemption to real property, the Assessor’s Office does not have the authority to grant an exemption to 

real property for the 2016/2017 fiscal year.   

In 2007 NRS 361.155 was amended to allow property owners to appeal to the Board of Equalization if a claim for a tax 

exemption was not filed by the deadline.  Since that time the County Board of Equalization has heard appeals on late 

filed exemption applications and has found it within their jurisdiction to grant the exemption on a case by case basis.   

The petitioner is requesting to have $19,350 assessed value, or $55,286 taxable value, of his 2016/2017 Disabled 

Veteran exempted on his property.  It is the recommendation of the Assessor’s Office to grant this exemption.  Approval 

by the County Board of Equalization will allow the Assessor to apply an exemption of $55,286 taxable value to APN 234‐

373‐05. 

STATUTES 

NRS 361.091  Exemption for veteran who has incurred service-connected disability and surviving spouse of such 
a veteran. 

1. A bona fide resident of the State of Nevada who has incurred a permanent service‐connected disability and has
been honorably discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States, or his or her surviving spouse, is entitled to an 
exemption. 
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2. The  amount  of  exemption  is  based  on  the  total  percentage  of  permanent  service‐connected  disability.  The
maximum allowable exemption  for  total permanent disability  is  the  first $20,000 assessed valuation. A person with a 
permanent service‐connected disability of: 

(a) Eighty to 99 percent, inclusive, is entitled to an exemption of $15,000 assessed value.
(b) Sixty to 79 percent, inclusive, is entitled to an exemption of $10,000 assessed value.

 For the purposes of this section, any property in which an applicant has any interest is deemed to be the property of
the applicant.

3. The exemption may be allowed only to a claimant who has filed an affidavit with his or her claim for exemption
on real property pursuant to NRS 361.155. The affidavit may be made at any time by a person claiming an exemption 
from taxation on personal property. 

4. The affidavit must be made before the county assessor or a notary public and be filed with the county assessor.
It must  state  that  the  affiant  is  a  bona  fide  resident  of  the  State  of  Nevada,  that  the  affiant meets  all  the  other 
requirements of subsection 1 and that the exemption is not claimed in any other county within this State. After the filing 
of the original affidavit, the county assessor shall, except as otherwise provided in this subsection, mail a form for: 

(a) The renewal of the exemption; and
(b) The designation of any amount to be credited to the Gift Account for the Veterans Home in Southern Nevada or

the Gift Account for the Veterans Home in Northern Nevada established pursuant to NRS 417.145, 
 to  the person each year  following a year  in which  the exemption was allowed  for  that person. The  form must be
designed to facilitate its return by mail by the person claiming the exemption. If so requested by the person claiming the
exemption, the county assessor may provide the form to the person by electronic means in lieu of by mail. The county
assessor may authorize the return of the form by electronic means in accordance with the provisions of chapter 719 of
NRS.

5.    Before allowing any exemption pursuant to the provisions of this section, the county assessor shall require proof
of the applicant’s status, and for that purpose shall require the applicant to produce an original or certified copy of:

(a) An honorable discharge or other document of honorable separation from the Armed Forces of the United States
which indicates the total percentage of his or her permanent service‐connected disability; 

(b) A  certificate  of  satisfactory  service  which  indicates  the  total  percentage  of  his  or  her  permanent  service‐
connected disability; or 

(c) A certificate from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or any other military document which shows
that he or she has  incurred a permanent service‐connected disability and which  indicates the total percentage of that 
disability, together with a certificate of honorable discharge or satisfactory service. 

6. A surviving spouse claiming an exemption pursuant to this section must file with the county assessor an affidavit
declaring that: 

(a) The surviving spouse was married to and  living with the veteran who  incurred a permanent service‐connected
disability for the 5 years preceding his or her death; 

(b) The veteran was eligible  for  the exemption at  the  time of his or her death or would have been eligible  if  the
veteran had been a resident of the State of Nevada; 

(c) The surviving spouse has not remarried; and
(d) The surviving spouse is a bona fide resident of the State of Nevada.

 The affidavit required by this subsection  is  in addition to the certification required pursuant to subsections 4 and 5.
After  the  filing  of  the  original  affidavit  required  by  this  subsection,  the  county  assessor  shall,  except  as  otherwise
provided in this subsection, mail a form for renewal of the exemption to the person each year following a year in which
the exemption was allowed  for  that person. The  form must be designed  to  facilitate  its  return by mail by  the person
claiming  the exemption.  If  so  requested by  the person claiming  the exemption,  the county assessor may provide  the
form to the person by electronic means in lieu of by mail. The county assessor may authorize the return of the form by
electronic means in accordance with the provisions of chapter 719 of NRS.

7. If a veteran or the surviving spouse of a veteran submits, as proof of disability, documentation that  indicates a
percentage of permanent  service‐connected disability  for more  than one permanent  service‐connected disability,  the 
amount of the exemption must be based on the total of those combined percentages, not to exceed 100 percent. 

8. If a tax exemption is allowed under this section to a person who qualifies for the exemption:
(a) As a veteran with a permanent service‐connected disability, that person  is not entitled to an exemption under

NRS 361.090. 
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(b) Solely as the surviving spouse of a veteran with a permanent service‐connected disability, the allowance of a tax
exemption under this section does not affect the eligibility of that person for an exemption under NRS 361.090. 

9. If any person  files a  false affidavit or produces  false proof  to  the county assessor or a notary public and, as a
result of the false affidavit or false proof, the person is allowed a tax exemption to which the person is not entitled, the 
person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. 

10. Beginning with  the 2005‐2006 Fiscal Year,  the monetary amounts  in subsection 2 must be adjusted  for each
fiscal year by adding to the amount the product of the amount multiplied by the percentage  increase  in the consumer 
price  inflation  index  from  July 2003  to  the  July preceding  the  fiscal year  for which  the adjustment  is  calculated. The 
Department shall provide to each county assessor the adjusted amount, in writing, on or before September 30 of each 
year. 

11. For the purposes of this section, “consumer price inflation index” means the Consumer Price Index for All Urban
Consumers, West Region (All Items), as published by the United States Department of Labor or, if that index ceases to be 
published by  the United States Department of  Labor,  the published  index  that most  closely  resembles  that  index, as 
determined by the Department. 
      (Added to NRS by 1973, 226; A 1975, 70; 1977, 1032; 1981, 1565; 1983, 472; 1985, 860; 1987, 813; 1989, 715; 1991, 2092; 
1993, 89; 1995, 1087; 2001, 1525, 1526; 2003, 2754, 2756; 2005, 585, 2652; 2007, 1879; 2011, 3517; 2013, 2510; 2015, 3924) 

  NRS 361.155  Exemptions: Filing of claims and designations; duration and amount; assessment and penalty for 
erroneous grant or renewal; review of late or denied claim. 

1. Except as otherwise provided in this section:
(a) All claims for personal tax exemptions on real property, the initial claim of an organization for a tax exemption on

real property and the designation of any amount to be credited to the Gift Account for the Veterans Home in Southern 
Nevada or the Gift Account for the Veterans Home in Northern Nevada pursuant to NRS 361.0905 must be filed on or 
before June 15. 

(b) An initial claim for a tax exemption on real property acquired after June 15 and before July 1 must be filed on or
before July 5. 

2. All exemptions provided  for pursuant  to  this chapter apply on a  fiscal year basis, and any exemption granted
pursuant  to  this  chapter must not be  in an amount which gives  the  taxpayer a  total exemption greater  than  that  to 
which the taxpayer is entitled during any fiscal year. 

3. Except as otherwise provided in this section, each claim for an exemption provided for pursuant to this chapter
must be filed with the county assessor of: 

(a) The county in which the claimant resides for personal tax exemptions; or
(b) Each county in which property is located for the tax exemption of an organization.
4. After  the  initial  claim  for  an  exemption  pursuant  to  NRS 361.088  or  361.098  to  361.150,  inclusive,  an

organization is not required to file annual claims if the property remains exempt. If any portion of the property loses its 
exemption pursuant to NRS 361.157 or for any other reason becomes taxable, the organization must notify the county 
assessor. 

5. If an exemption is granted or renewed in error because of an incorrect claim or failure of an organization to give
the notice required by subsection 4, the assessor shall assess the taxable portion of the property retroactively pursuant 
to NRS 361.769 and a penalty of 10 percent of the tax due for the current year and any prior years may be added. 

6. If a claim for a tax exemption on real property and any required affidavit or other documentation in support of
the claim is not filed within the time required by subsection 1, or if a claim for a tax exemption is denied by the county 
assessor,  the person  claiming  the exemption may, on or before  January 15 of  the  fiscal  year  for which  the  claim of 
exemption  is made,  file  the claim and any  required documentation  in  support of  the claim with  the county board of 
equalization of  the  county  in which  the  claim  is  required  to be  filed pursuant  to  subsection 3. The  county board of 
equalization shall review the claim of exemption and may grant or deny the claim for that fiscal year, as it determines to 
be appropriate. The State Board of Equalization shall establish procedures for: 

(a) The review of a claim of exemption by a county board of equalization pursuant to this subsection; and
(b) The  appeal  to  the  State  Board  of  Equalization  of  the  denial  of  a  claim  of  exemption  by  a  county  board  of

equalization pursuant to this subsection. 
      [Part 1:344:1953; A 1954, 29; 1955, 340] — (NRS A 1957, 321; 1969, 591; 1979, 132; 1983, 473; 1987, 814; 1991, 2094; 1993, 
90; 1995, 2297; 1997, 200; 2003, 2757; 2005, 2654; 2007, 1882; 2013, 2512) 
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